top of page
Simply Passionate Mom

Fun Home Activities- 1st wk

As a mom, I want my son to have a productive day while he’s at home. I want him to enjoy and at the same time learn new things that will help him when he starts his school. I decided to make home activities (you can check out my previous post —  http://bit.ly/2pN9cwk) so he won’t get bored during the day and make it our bonding time as well.

Each week,  I will be sharing with everyone our topics for our homeschool activities. (I will try my best to write every week). [fingers crossed here]

I don’t suggest doing all activities at the same time in a day. To avoid stress on my kiddo, one to two activities will be good for us plus we will have our free playtime (Anything he wants to do/ play, I just let him choose).

For our 1st week Activities: Discussion of Letter Aa, Color RED & Number 1

Materials needed:

  1. Scissors

  2. Paste/ Glue

  3. Glitters

  4. Color Paper

  5. Long bond paper

  6. Old long white folders

  7. Crayons

  8. Apron (just not to get him dirty)

  9. Picture Dictionary (if you guys have; no need to buy)

  10. Print out pictures

  11. Worksheet printout

  12. Activity book (additional)

IMG_1708[1]

The Letter Aa

I let my son, Lucas put the paste on the printable worksheet which I got from the internet. Then I let him spread some glitters using a paintbrush. (Make sure to turn off the electric fan so he/ she won’t inhale the glitters and guide him through while doing this.)

IMG_1703

Sorting out big A and small a

Even he knows his letters already, I still let him get familiarize with alphabets, shapes and numbers. I made a cut out of the circle for the big letter A and squares for the small letter a, then I let him paste it on the bond paper. My son really loves this activity that’s why most of our home activities have some sticky issues. hehe. =)

Picture- word — APPLE

I drew an apple (separating the leaves and the stem) then I let him paste it in their proper places. I told him to spell out the word– APPLE and let him identify the missing letters (He’s supposed to write the missing letters but he still needs to practice his writing).

*Take note: Make writing fun for your kids. You can browse the internet to get some ideas and create interesting ways for him/ her to enjoy this activity.

IMG_1723[1].jpg

Picture- word — AIRPLANE

IMG_0647

The very proud kid =)


I used different kinds of shapes to make an airplane(body of the aircraft doesn’t look like an oblong, haha!). We have triangles for the wings and the tails, oblong for the body and squares representing the windows. I showed him a sample picture for him to copy then I let him do it by himself.

*Reminder: You don’t need to be perfect in cutting the shapes, as long as it’s colorful and looks similar, he/ she will appreciate it especially if he’s into this kind of stuff! =)

Picture- word — ANGRY

Ever since he was a kid, we already taught him different facial expression (happy, sad, angry, nervous, excited, etc.) that he can express.

IMG_0652

He’s angry face. (He can do it naturally! hehe)


In this activity, I got the different facial expression on the internet which you could print and cut out. I stored it in a canister and I let him choose the angry face. Then I let him paste it (his favorite thing to do aside from cutting).

Picture- word — AMBULANCE

IMG_0371

His masterpiece =)


AM 1

It looks like this.


I think this activity was his most favorite! He was able to identify the parts of the ambulance, colored it then put it all together.

Cut- out shapes– Arrows

ARROWS

I made triangles and rectangles and colored it differently to make arrows. I let my son choose the shapes, explained to him what he needs to do and he instantly got it.

Color RED– “I spy game”

In playing this game, the rule is that we need to look for any objects that are color red. When we see the color, we need to point at it and say the name of the object. This activity helps the kids to learn the things inside and outside the house that we use every day.

We also use printable worksheets aside from our workbooks.

My personal tip on how I create fun activities each week:

I think of a topic per week (starting with vowels) mixed it with numbers or shapes and other activities so that he won’t get bored. I get ideas from the internet especially from Pinterest or I look for exciting words from his picture dictionary that we can make up.

IMG_1726[1]

From his Picture Dictionary


Example: In the picture, you can have an activity by making a paper plate fish or you can make a flag and let him color and explain it to him (like the Philippine flag).

I can’t say that I’m very creative but I’m learning a lot as well from the activities I make for him. Thanks to technology, you can get a glimpse of ideas from the net.

It’s up to you on how you do it as long as your kid is learning and enjoying at the same time with home activities.

If you guys have any question/s or idea/s for our fun- filled activities, please don’t hesitate to contact me. =)

Thanks for reading!

Stay tuned for more home activities ideas from us!

xoxo

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page