top of page
Simply Passionate Mom

Loving My Little Pony

Lucas with his My Little Pony stuff toys together with his PJ Mask slide for his toy cars.

I was hesitant at first to share everyone that Lucas loves My Little Pony but after talking to my best friend (my best friend since grade 5!), she made me realized that I should let him explore things what he like and dislike.

One time, my son asked me… mommy, why girls can play and watch movies for boys (e.g. ninja turtles, batman, etc- like I did!) but boys can’t watch nor play toys for girls!? That’s so unfair! Imagine a 5 years old asking me that kind of question and I wasn’t sure how to answer it!!

In today’s culture, there are definitely thoughts and beliefs for how children should play and what they should play with. We are used to putting labels like barbies are for girls and cars are for boys. When they try to watch anything that’s consider for girls, we tell them, that’s for girls! (Pangbabae yan!)

We should stop putting labels which toys or tv shows they should watch or play with. Let us not limit their exploration in discovering things.

Some retailers and manufactures in the toy industry started to heed these concerns in labelling toys for girls and boys already. (nytimes.com)

There is no limit to the imagination of a child.

Play Matters

Play is crucial to how children develop and learn about the real world. They need a wide range of toys and play experiences to help them discover and develop skills that includes cognitive, socio- emotional and physical skills. They become imaginative in so many ways when we give them opportunities to explore and let them decide for themselves what they think is fun and what they like or dislike.

Not only my kid likes to play My Little Pony at times, but he also likes playing his cooking set (me as being his one and only customer 😅), his legos (he becomes imaginative and loves to build differently not based on the instructions), his cars and trucks and we also love to play board games. 🙂

Ready to serve. Playing with him inside our tent. ⛺

The key is to be open- minded, not thinking of toys as being gender- specific. Being parents, we should offer choices in play that include different possibilities.

Allowing a child to play with any type of toy, as long as it’s safe and age appropriate, will help them grow and increase their creativity and sense of self. ❤️

Love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

Xoxo,

Simply Passionate Mom

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page